Meatless Monday – Recipes and Things

From now on, I hope to post links to recipes and other interesting vegan links every Monday… in the name of Meatless Monday! Hopefully, if you aren’t vegan or vegetarian, you might consider skipping meat for a day? I promise you, cutting back on meat will make you healthier – the fact that meat is bad for you is not a myth. It also negatively affects the planet.

Ever since I moved to Morgantown, my boyfriend, Josh, and I have been cooking up a storm… always in pursuit of a healthier meal. We’ve found and created (and by we, I mean HE) some amazing meals.  The Forks Over Knives Cookbook is perfect if you are looking for healthy vegan meals. We really enjoyed the Cream of Broccoli Soup, Hummus, and the Southwestern Twice-Baked Potatoes. If you want to give one of the recipes a shot, the Forks Over Knives website posts recipes occasionally–try the Mushroom Stroganoff (it is deadly). I highly recommend this book, especially if you are interested in oil-free recipes.

On a related note, if you haven’t watched Forks Over Knives, you should! It’s streaming on Netflix. I also recommend King Corn, a documentary about the problems we face regarding large-scale farming, especially genetically modified corn.

In a fit of a sweet tooth, I found this recipe for tiny Snickerdoodles at Have Cake, Will Travel. Listen: these miniature cookies are amazing, and the recipe makes the perfect amount of gloriously soft and tasty snickerdoodles. Trust me. Make them. I’d share a picture but, once again, I ate them all.

Have you heard of Vegan Cuts yet? This website offers weekly deals on vegan products. It’s hard to not buy everything! Interested in checking it out?

Lastly, check out this article, Do So Unapologetically from Our Hen House. It really struck a chord with me. For a long time, I allowed my friends to make me feel guilty about my decision to be vegan. I am not even sure they meant to make me feel that way, but the relentless “jokes” were enough. I’m over it. I am so much happier and healthier now, and I’m really passionate about this lifestyle. I will not feel guilty for being more conscious about my everyday choices.

That’s enough for today, I suppose. Have any good vegan recipes? Share them in the comments!

Happy October, and I hope you are all having a great Monday (is that even an option?)!

One thought on “Meatless Monday – Recipes and Things

Leave a Reply

